Weekend well spend - Stevenson screen

After reading a lot on this board I thought that I would try to build a Stevenson screen. I had a lot of different leftover building materials lying in my garage and two days of work ended like this image1.
I then started to think about some sort of cooling. An old kitchen shelf was halved and became a frame for two solar panels image2 I had in my old garden lamps and a mount for an old PC fan image3

And the final result is looking like this image4.
My termo/hygro sensor is mounted inside with heavy duty wire.
Now I just have to wait for the sun start shining again.
Total cost less than

looks very nice, well done :slight_smile:

Very nicely done. 8)

Awesome! I just posted a picture of a design that I was thinking of building which is not too dissimilar to your. http://discourse.weather-watch.com/t/40519

I built my own Stephenson Screen, too. However, I’m not very good with my hands and thought louvres would be a bit much. I tried kitchen cabinet stores for ready made ones, but it seems that louvres are not in fashion in Oz anymore. So, I built it out of inverted flower pot bases with the centre cut out – see attachment. That way, no one would know how crap I am at cutting things as the holes are inside. Anyway it works a treat. I’m wrapped. It has two bases at the top without holes for extra insulation.

Incidentally, in the photo, the Stephenson Screen looks like it’s at ground level. Actually, it’s not – it’s on an embankment and is actually about 1.5 metres from the ground at the base. That’s a rain gauge on top.

I had only one problem with setting it up and that was finding a paint that sticks to plastic. However, my local hardware store came good and sold me a spray can that, according to the advertising blurb, sticks to anything. It certainly sticks to plastic (and my thumb nail – took two weeks to wear off).