This is my smart home

I’ve been making my home smart for a couple of years but have add a lot more functionality in the last 9 months or so. Here’s what I have…

• I run Home Assistant (HA) on a Raspberry Pi Model 4 with a SSD for storage. HA is a server that manage inputs from the various sensors round the house and allows you to automate various functions (see below for more details of what I control). The HA server also has a ZigBee USB dongle attached which allows more sensors, etc. to be connected up.
  • My central heating is controlled by a Tado system. This consists of a boiler controller, a wall thermostat and 9 smart thermostatic radiator valves. The Tado system can control itself but it’s integrated into HA for centralised control. The valves in most rooms have a temperature schedule set, e.g. 19degC from 07:00 to 08:00 in a bedroom and then request the boiler controller to turn on when they need heat. You can also override the temperature setting through the app or by turning the valve top (there’s an display in each valve telling you the target temperature. Finally there’s an internet bridge that allows the system to be controlled locally or from anywhere on the Internet.
  • 9 of my lights are from LIFX. They’re WiFi enabled so are controllable from an app or via HA. Lights can be scheduled to turn on/off at various times, e.g. I have an ‘all lights off at 23:00’ function in HA because by that time we’re usually all tucked up in bed. There are also other ways to turn them on/off.
  • I have 3 ZigBee door sensors. These are fitted to doors (or windows) to check if they’re open or closed. So for example, I have one each on my front and back doors. These are configured that during the hours of darkness if the door is opened it turns on one or more nearby lights. So when I get home at night I don’t walk into a dark house.