Temperature module - centre circle gradient

I’ve been looking at the code that creates the gradient for the temperature circle. This is driven by an array of 80 different colours from a cold pink, through purples, blues, greens, yellows, oranges and ending in full red.
I have seen the code which selects the two grad colours from day_max to day_min in celcius.

# ----------------- color range
 $in_C   = temp_in_c ($max_temp);
 $n      = 32 + $in_C;
 if ($n < 0) {$n=0;}
 if ($n > $maxTemp)      
      {  $color1 = $temp_colors[$maxTemp];}
 else {  $color1 = $temp_colors[$n];}
 $in_C_l = $in_C =temp_in_c ($min_temp);
 $n      = 32 + $in_C;
 if ($n < 0) {$n=0;}
 if ($n > $maxTemp)      
      {  $color2 = $temp_colors[$maxTemp];}
 else {  $color2 = $temp_colors[$n];}
#

Can anyone please explain, in an array of 80 colours, what the

$n = 32 + $in_C;

is doing?

I’m no expert, but I think these two 6-line chunks of code select the gradient end colours to use with max and min temps ranging from about -32°C to 48°C - a range of 80 deg C to go with 80 colours.

I think I agree. There are 80 colours and a -32C with the +32 offset would pick colour #1 and as you say allow up to 48C.

I do think the code has a bug as the variable for min_temp is $in_C_l which is not used elsewhere in the code. I think it should be as follows:

$in_C_l = temp_in_c ($min_temp);
$n      = 32 + $in_C_l;
if ($n < 0) {$n=0;}
if ($n > $maxTemp)      
     {  $color2 = $temp_colors[$maxTemp];}
else {  $color2 = $temp_colors[$n];}

[quote=“jasonmfarrow, post:3, topic:71640”]
I do think the code has a bug as the variable for min_temp is $in_C_l which is not used elsewhere in the code. [/quote]

Well you are the first user which is clairvoyant.
The result of your changes: generate exactly the same value.
So what is the bug?

Your current version of the scripts does not use “temp in Celsius used in the left column” anymore.