Rainfall - manual correction

Hi there!
Hoping there is someone on this forum that can give a complete novice some help…I am am novice with both computers and WD!
I tried to manually update today’s rainfall total in WD using

1. control panel > offsets and initial rain page and
  2. action> view and modify log file/rain totals
    Somewhere along the process, I have pressed a button which resulted in the loss of all rainfall data for this current month (April 2012)!!
    Now, when I press the “load data file to correct the daily rain data”, the only data present starts half way through 29/04/12.
    The Detailed Rain chart now only shows an entry for 29/04, the rest of the days being blank. The correct monthly total is still shown at the foot of the page, with a total of 1 day of rain for the month.

I have searched the FAQ section, but cannot find an answer which helps me resolve my problem.

Can someone please advise me how to restore the data (if this is now still possible), and how to correctly update the daily rain totals manually without wiping my data.

For info I have a Davis Vantage Vue, and my WD version 10.37R build 19

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Neil

More bad news!
I have now realised that the graphs on the WD have reset for the whole month of April!!

The harder I try to repair the data damage, the more trouble I’m getting in!

Would really appreciate help on how to clear up this mess!

Neil

There is an option that allows you to correct the log files and on that is the daily rain totals, if you know the daily amounts then you can correct them in here.
Sadly I’m at work at the moment and not near my WD PC so I can’t give exact instructions but I’ll have a search around the forum and see if I can come up with something. :wink:

Edit: See is this FAQ helps - http://discourse.weather-watch.com/t/27619

Budgie

I think I was on this page of WD trying to update the daily rain total, when my problem occurred.