Prospective customer introduction

Hi! I do have questions related to the Linux version of WD, but want to introduce myself first. I’ve been a weather station hobbyist since the mid-late 1990’s. Originally had an Oregon Scientific station, and ran that with Virtual Weather Station (VWS) for a good number of years, on a PC. I was originally a Mac person, but got seduced by the cheap fast hardware available on the Windows side at the time. I have since come back to Mac for my personally owned computers, but have a Windows laptop for work. So there came a time when I had no host for VWS, and went without posting the weather for a while. Then the hardware gave up the ghost. Then I bought an Acurite station at Costco, because we missed having something at home showing our local weather conditions. After a bit, I went looking for software to connect to it, and came across Meteohub. I’ve been running Meteohub for a good number of years now, on a Raspberry Pi, but I have grown weary of the lack of support. Seems as if they have moved on to Meteobridge as the current alternative. And I started assembling the gear I would need to run that. And I posted a question on the support forum, but many days later, there is still no response. I believe VWS is no longer (I think perhaps Ambient is re-packaging some version of Meteobridge with dedicated hardware as an alternative), but I got to looking around for viable alternatives.

I certainly remember the name Weather Display (in my recollection, there was a 32 after the name, presumably to note its modern 32-bitness as opposed to 16-bit), but I remember it being a Windows program. I am heartened to see it is still here, looks to be quite popular, and now runs on Linux! I have been using RasPi since the beginning for all kinds of things at home. In fact, my current Meteohub host is an original Pi!