How supported is Wd Linux?

Good afternoon all.

I have just loaded Ubuntu onto a PC (first time I’ve ever used Linux). I have used WD windows for years.
I am considering moving over to Linux due to a windows instability issue (not wd related), however, I am wondering just how much support for queries there will be?

It doesn’t look like Brian drops in here much (apologies Brian, no offence intended) and there seems to be a lot of unanswered questions.

Whilst I’m quite good on windows, I’m not a real techie, and don’t know linux really at all

Does WD run Ok on Linux?
Is it much the same as windows version?

Are there any problems connecting the consoles (Davies Vantage Vue) and getting them to update both the screen and uploading to WU/websites etc.

many thanks for your help

Woody

yes it works OK with the Davis station and can update your web site OK
not sure why you are saying its not supported?

The new compiler I have purchased will soon (this year some time) be able to port to Linux, and then the linux version will be able to be more like the windows version

thats something to look forward to.

ukwoody, Ive been using wd on Linux for about a year now. Why i don’t come on here too much is because wd works for me.

Ive never used wd on windows as i haven’t used windows for over 5 years, so i cant compare to be honest.

Imagine if it could be ported to Debian Linux on the ARM platform aka Raspberry PI and

[quote author=Iceage link=topic=55626.msg446789#msg446789 date=1336855344]
Imagine if it could be ported to Debian Linux on the ARM platform aka Raspberry PI and

marfanuk - what linux version do you use?
Thanks

Im using ubuntu 11.10 64bit.

re cut down version that runs on ARM → see wdconsole

:smiley:

Will download the console and setup and report back on how it goes as I am one of the lucky ones that have been able to get my sticky fingers on one. Ordered at release within an hour and received 8/5/12 !! 9 weeks…