Davis Solar sensor reading too high

Any thoughts on why my Davis solar sensor is reading much to high? Maximum for the day is about 930W/m2 and it’s fairly cloudy so I’d expect it to be a fair bit lower than that. The sensor is currently reading 1730W/m2 so nearly twice as high as it should be. It’s possible that it’s faulty, but can anyone think of any other reason why it might be reading so high? It went high a few days ago but I’ve only noticed today. It’s stayed at about 1700W/m2 for about 48 hours now - even overnight.

It’s not easy to physically examine the sensor because it’s about 30ft up a mast so I’m trying remote diagnosis at first!

If it’s stayed that high for 48 hours I think it’s faulty. . . :cry:

(Note that I have no experience of Davis kit. . .)

At over £200 for a new sensor I’m hoping there’s an alternative theory :sob:

What’s the reading at night? When mine went wrong it was nonzero at night.

Stuart

1700W/m2 at night too!

I think its bust.

Stuart

Sad Inside Out GIF

I’d better order a new one. The roof is being replaced in a few weeks so that might give me an easier way to bring the mast down to ground level (I need access to a flat roof to help bring it down). It’s probably time I brought it all down to check cabling and the antennas on the mast so other than the sensor cost it’s probably a good thing.

Go on, get the UV sensor as well and double your worries about the range of uncertainty. . . :slightly_smiling_face:

The UV sensor seems OK. It’s currently reading 0 which is reasonable for 3:30am :slightly_smiling_face:

Silly question how do you check the level bubbles on the sensors when there that high
I changed my solar last year as reading were a bit off the uv I changed last month with the rest of the station update