Want to detect the lightning but do not want to spend the $$$

Ok, I know I am a rookie and just looking arround the corner when it comes to weather stations and sensors. Just starting my page http://www.dayboro.info/localweather/

Would it not be nice to have a lighting detector? After all this is the lightning capital of queensland.

What would I need ? I got a Vantage Pro weather station and the WDL and WD software.

So can anybody help me out?

Thanks
H

Hi
you could get a 1 wire lightning counter
and add that to WD with a 1 wire adaptor (either usb or serial)
for not a very big cost
there is a post about setting up and using a 1 wire counter somwhere on this forum maybe in the FAQ

the 1 wire counter does tend to pick up false readings like lights in the house going off and on, but the further away from the house you can get it the better

i have a 1 wire counter my self, going through a labjack :slight_smile:

The Boltek is a fine addition to my station. Using NexStorm software it will plot lightning storms at 300 + miles (depending on height of antenna). Integrates nicely with WD and WDL as well. Much more money than the 1-wire setup but does provide longer range and mapping of strikes.

Thanks guys.

I looked the boltek, but that is 1800+ Australian so that is a no go for the moment. The “boss” will have my b…s if I get that toy.

Just ordered the 1-wire one, so lets see how we go with that :-). Who knows might be good enough, I am in a mountain range (compared to Canada we could say hill range). For that reason my range might be limited anyway, but not sure how this all works, only one way to find out… hook it all up and if it does not smoke it must be good :lol:

WOW! Whats the exchange rate for AU$ to U$?

[quote author=IT Farmer link=topic=12890.msg98664#msg98664 date=1133950364]
Thanks guys.

I looked the boltek, but that is 1800+ Australian so that is a no go for the moment. The “boss” will have my b…s if I get that toy.