Setting up Server/Client WD

I’m trying to set up a server/client connection, on a lan. The client doesn’t update… I set server on the server (where the weather station is) and client on the client machine… Is there something I am missing?

And, as I read through the forum, and learned more about this Brian guy, I am amazed! What’s in that milk you’re makin’? What a great product!!

Bud Williamson

hi
try using just the default IP address , for both the client and server
i.,e
and 333 for the port number
yes, I am a dairy farmer
I am standing here with my gumboots on and overalls on with the first row of cows miking

see
http://ps.gen.nz/~windy/

:slight_smile:

Hi Brian,

I started using the default IPs, but that wouldn’t communicate. Should I see the “Data Received” light blink green or something on the client side? I was able to get it to respond to a clientraw.txt file that I ftp’d to a site.
I do have a seperate ip set up on the server machine - does that mean anything? (I tried setting that number, but that didn’t work either)

Enjoyed your site…

Bud

I am standing here with my gumboots on and overalls on with the first row of cows miking

You need to get a Wifi connected tablet PC so that you can be standing in the shed with the cows and still coding :robot: Just think of all the extra coding time if you didn’t have to walk from the cow-shed to the PC :wink:

very funny.
the cows will be dry in a few weeks…

client/server:
yes the data received light shiould flash

export and email me your wdisplayftp.ini file from the registry…
see
http://www.weather-display.com/exportregistry.html

from both pc;s

and also try the old restart wd trick on both pcs

You mean the shed isn’t already wired and computerized??!!

Brian,

OK, I’ll get those files gathered & sent… I assume you are done milking? Is it play time now?

Appreciate the support,
Bud

yes, computerised sheds and even robot milkers you can get
i think of myslf as a robot milker

LOL

I can see it now…