Remote Control Of PC's For Troubleshooting/SW Development

Brian - Ever think of using a remote control package like VNC (http://www.uk.research.att.com/vnc/ ) for troubleshooting problems, or testing code for stations that you don’t currently have in inventory? (Of course a hole would have to be punched through the firewalls at both ends to make it work, but it shouldn’t be too hard to figure out what ports to open.)

Price seems to fall within most of our budgets :lol: (hate to see that full growth of hair go away prematurely) .

Another free alternative is Netmeeting. Thats what I’m using right now to access my home pc. Plus its a ton easier to set up (fewer options to have to figure out). The biggest plus, it is already installed on almost every windows pc.

For all interested, sounds like we have a VNC expert in the house :smiley: !!!

I’m no expert on security issues, but I work with a security conscious organization. I was at a meeting with the server group when a vendor suggested using net meeting for remote admin, the answer was a very resounding no, apparently due to security concerns. Obviously if it’s just a personal weather station then it’s not a big deal, but something to bear in mind when looking at any of these packages.

Steve

You would only load it when necessary. If someone needed in, they would call or email you, you start it up, give them your IP address, a userid, and password, and let them in. When they are finished, shut it down, and unload it.

I used VNC for years but now have gone over to Tight VNC www.tightvnc.com. As I like to access my remote PC’s via a web browser, VNC only used 16 colours. TightVNC uses 256.

The good thing is that it is compatible with VNC.