Ready Data - What is it and how does it help?

Hi All

I’m a bit of a novice at all this and I was just wondering what the ‘ready’ data is and how does it help WXSIM to make accurate forecasts. From what I can gather, it appears to tell WXSIM what the cloud cover will be like at a certain time and when and how much rain is expected. Does this mean that WXSIM does not calculate this itself? Does it use it as a guide? It’s almost as if it uses a forecast to calculate another forecast… I’m confused.

I have been really impressed with WXSIM’s forecast over the last few days, it’s been spot on. This is just making me wonder, that if the ready data tells it that rain is likely on say Thursday, then what does it need to forecast if it is told this already by the ready data?

Thanks in advance.

Mark

Addition… I’ve also noticed that if I don’t use the ready data and just use my local station data and advection, that the cloud cover predicted is the same for the whole forecast. So if I start off with partly cloudy, it will remain partly cloudy for the next 4 days. This is with the auto clouds feature turned on too. Is it possible for the program to calculate cloud cover and precipitation without the ready data and if so what I’m I missing?

Thanks

READY data helps WxSim to estimate conditions, but the data (which comes from the US GFS model) covers a fairly large area. A GFS forecast region covers (roughly) 3535 miles (5555kms). WxSim is working much closer to home…probably a 10 mile radius around you.

There’s a lot more on this in the manual (especially the first part which recounts the history of how I developed WXSIM), but it’s a good question so I’ll attempt at least a brief answer here.