mySQL for Data Storage

I haven’t registered the software yet; but, I will do it before the end of the 30-day trial - and, the answer to this question won’t change that!

Is there any chance you’ll be adding the option of storing the data in a “real” database (mySQL comes to mind and it’s great and basically free…)? (I’m a SysAdmin/Web Application Programmer for a Health Plan Pharmacy Network.)

If you don’t think the database “thing” will happen, I’ll just try pulling the rawdata into a mySQL database every minute or so…

By the way - great software! It’s a little hard to find your way around at first (and I keep finding things); but, it’ll let you do just about anything!

Thanks.

Dwain

P.S. Here’s the weather page I’ve created so far (keep in mind, I’ve only had the AAG v.3.0 since 7/18): http://home.net-router.com/wx/wx2.html

I wrote a quickie wx-local file to create a comma-delimeted file that’s ftp’d to the linux server every minute. Then I wrote a small PERL script that’s called via crontab every minute that inserts the data into a mySQL database. WORKS!

Thanks.

Dwain

Dwain

Would you consider posting the wx-local and PERL scripts here for others to use? I’d like to get WD data into MySQL to play around with other presentational methods, so I’d be interested in how you did it. I’ve not investigated this for myself yet because I’ve got a couple of other biggish projects on the go at the moment.

I thought you’d never ask!

Since I’m still playing with it, I only setup the wxlocal file to use a few of the fields you have available; but, you will get the idea:

wxlocal3.html:[code:1]
%temp%,%heati%,%windch%,%hum%,%dirlabel%,%avgspd%,%gstspd%,%dew%,%baro%,%pressuretrendname%,%dayrnusa%,%maxrain/minlasthour%,%indoortemp%
[/code:1]
That’s it! Just remember, it needs to be a single line…

The PERL script isn’t pretty. It was “quick and dirty” to get it to work. When I get a chance I’ll clean it up…

wx_data_loader.pl:

[code:1]
#!/usr/bin/perl

use DBI;